The Top 12 Books That I have Read. (I couldn’t just choose 10. Plus, I like to be different)

I wrote in one of my previous blog posts how certain things at are going/have gone on in my life have made me lose my passion and love for reading and writing.

I’ve started reading more over the past few weeks, and the spark is coming back. You could say me and Mr.Book took a little break, but we’ve started off on a clean slate and we’re on a steady path to marriage again! Basically a Rachel and Ross story. I guess in the very end, books are my Lobsters.

Anyways, there was one book in particular that started this all up again, and I thought I would write about. But I didn’t really think a whole blog post on one book would be very entertaining, so I’ve decided that you lucky readers will get a low-down on my Top 12 Books That I Have Read! (DISCLAIMER: These are my top 12 at the time of writing, it will probably change in a week. Also these are not in any order.)

  • Twenty Something: The Quarter Life Crisis of Jack Lancaster – Iain Hollingshead.

5193nafw9vl-_sx343_bo1204203200_Now this is THE BOOK that got me reading again. I literally read this in about 3 hours it was SO GOOD. It is an absolutely hilariously written book, and although I’m not quite at the quarter-of-my-life mark, I can completely relate. I won’t ruin the storyline with this one, because I genuinely urge everyone to read this book.

  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak.

1294761306-largeThe Book Thief is a book that I read when I was around 15 years old. To this day, I still get excited to read it. Written from the POV of Liesel, The Book Thief writes about Nazi Germany in a way that I haven’t seen before. I have one word for this book: Pure.

  • Stoner – John Williams.

51nu26thj-l-_sx323_bo1204203200_No, Stoner is NOT about drugs. Don’t get too excited. This novel is one of those books that doesn’t reaaally have a storyline, but it kind of does at the same time. But this, in actual fact, is what makes it so compelling. Stoner follows the life of one man, William Stoner. It’s not an exciting life, and almost goes undetected. This book scared me in a way that made me realise that I did not want to go undetected. (Woah, that’s morbid. But F.Y.I, it is a great book.)

  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov.

lolita-novel

Okay so this one may be controversial – considering this book was actually banned for being “too obscene” at one point. I was introduced to this book on my course at university, and remember getting into a few heated debates about this book. Yes, you could argue that this book is about paedophilia, and you could also argue that this is a book about love, but it’s not on my list because of its themes. The reason this book is on my list is because of how its written. In my opinion, Lolita is one of the most amazingly written books I have ever read. Nabokov is a genius.

  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K Rowling.

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

BECAUSE IT’S HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!!! I was super upset when I came to the end of the series when I was younger, Harry Potter was my childhood. So when the new book/script came out in 2016 it was the BEST THING EVER. (But i’m also now sad because it’s the end again.)

  • The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson
  • .51fk3t7xial

If I was in a book shop, I can’t say that I would pick this book up first. But I was given it for Christmas, finished it two days ago, and already thinking ‘bugger it, should I just read it again?’ It is such a funny book with so much in it that I could genuinely be here all day typing out what happens in it.

  • Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn.

blog-gone-girl-book-jacket

Now I’m a sucker for a good crime-thriller. (Probably explains a lot, I bet you’re all thinking). But I often find that you can always predict the outcome. With this book, I genuinely had NO IDEA who did said-bad-thing. And normally I’m quite good with this kind of thing, even if I do say so myself. But this one stumped me, and for this, I commend it. (I didn’t like the film though.)

  • The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini.

51m3kl80z2bl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

The Kite Runner is the staple of all English A-Level students. I still have my copy with hundreds of notes in it today – which I shall never get rid of. Well, what can I say about The Kite Runner? It is a whirlwind of emotions. That is all. Read it. Please.

  • Out of the Ordinary: True Tales of Everyday Craziness – Jon Ronson.

41povtpobpl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

It’s not everyday I like to admit that someone is a funnier writer than me – but this guy actually made me LOL (excuse the 2005 lingo, it was appropriate) on multiple occasions whilst reading this book. This is my only non-fiction book on this list, as I don’t tend to stray from fiction, but Jon Ronson’s witty ramblings and stories of his life are genuinely worth a read.

  • Trumpet – Jackie Kay.

41wk7o5ctal-_sx328_bo1204203200_

EMOTIONS! So many emotions. Another beautiful book, all about love, but not the cheesy kind of love – the love love. This is a thinker, this one.

  • Frankenstein – Mary Shelley.

41wmhy-xrxl-_sy291_bo1204203200_ql40_Frankenstein is one of those books that just sticks with you. There is a reason it is so famous, and that is because it is quite simply… a brilliant book. Nearly 200 years have passed since it was published, yet it still resonates today. That’s got to count for something, right?

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky.

bbf7921d3a43dc617f32e499aa799345I will say one thing about this book – Beautiful. Completely sums up adolescence and the transition into adulthood, and if you haven’t read it…READ IT! That is all.

 

If you agree/disagree with any of my book choices, please type in the comments what you think! Feel free to send me any books you think I might like – I’m always on the look out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

